//
estás leyendo...
English 4 ESO

Like and Dislike verbs

Do you like …?
To talk about liking or disliking something, you can use verb + -ing with:-
Asking and answering questions:-

Question Answer + Answer –
Do you enjoy learning English? Yes, I love it. No, I hate it.
Does he like living in Germany? Yes, he loves it. No, he hates it.
Did you love the Beatles in the 60s? Yes, I loved them. No, I hated them.
Do you hate football? Yes, I hate it. No, I love it.

Love – Hate

After some verbs you can use a noun, a pronoun or a verb +ing.

Love Like Don’t mind Hate
Noun (coffee) I love coffee. I like coffee. I don’t mind coffee. I hate coffee.
Pronoun (him) I love him. I like him. I don’t mind him. I hate him.
Verb (flying) I love flying. I like flying. I don’t mind flying. I hate flying.

When verbs like can’t bear , like, love, hate, prefer are followed by the -ing form, they tend to refer to a GENERAL activity.
BUT when these verbs are followed by the infinitive, they tend to refer to PARTICULAR occasions.
Which sport do you like? I like swimming.(In general)
I like to swim in the mornings.(Particular situation)

EXERCISES

1.- Write «Love , like, don’t like, doesn’t like, dislike or hate» in the following gaps:
I _______eating Pizza on Saturdays.
My sister ________ tidying her room.
She ______ making dinner on Mondays.
Arthur_______ playing rugby with his friends.
My aunt _______ driving at night.
Your brothers _____ sleeping in the tent.
Those children ______ listening to the radio.
These men ______ working on Sundays.
My niece ________ reading adventure books.
Your father’s friends ______ driving their cars when it is raining.
2.-Write the verbs in blue in the corresponding gaps:
Get – Tidy – Do – Brush – Make – Go – Go – Have – Meet – Eat
She doesn’t like ______ her room everyday
Do you like_____ to bed at eleven o’clock?
My mother dislikes _____ up at 7.
Does your sister hate _____ cold food?
Anne’s father loves _____to work by car.
I always like _____ my homework before 7 o’clock.
John likes _____ his teeth every night.
Your grandmother hates _____ dinner for 6 people.
Does she like _____ a shower after dinner?
Hannah loves _____ her friends once a week
3.-. Write sentences about yourshelf.-
I like_________________________________
I hate ________________________________
I don`t like__________________________
I don`t mind__________________________________
I can’t stand _________________________________
4.-Order the following sentences:
1. classical My likes mother to music. listening
_____________________________________________
2. his dad car. Ana’s washing hates
______________________________________________
3. travelling friend by loves My plane. father’s
_______________________________________________
4. emails. writing I long hate
____________________________________________
5. watching dislikes films horror She TV. on
_______________________________________________

Acerca de engliesedavi

English teacher IES Sedavi

Comentarios

Aún no hay comentarios.

Deja un comentario